Home

As per story reported on the ToM,   Caruana Galizia hits out at Magistrate Scerri Herrera, I would like to share some reflections.

The court proceedings currently being heard regarding ‘Mrs Caruana Galizia … testifying in the defamation case instituted against her by Magistrate Consuelo Scerri Herrera’ has become the talk of the town for some time now, verging on the Grande Fratello style of watching it all unveil (with popcorn in one hand and a glass of white wine in the other). I would prefer seeing the end of this and the surfacing of all the facts before I share my opinion.  Nonetheless, what comes to mind  are two issues:

Firstly, the intricate weaving of power, judiciary, business, politics and the media is, to put it mildly, a balbuljata first class.  To say the truth this doesn’t surprise me at all.  Malta is too small to get the boundaries right.  Everything ‘we do’ seems to have some form of connection to something else.

I wonder if enough effort is being done by all concerned, to create the right structures to ensure that contacts are not used and abused! 

I wonder if enough is being done to create the right vacuum packaging between the different echelons of power – I suspect not!

Secondly, Daphne Caruana Galizia is doing what most journalists should be doing themselves, digging deep into stories.  Whether her style is the one I would  choose to use is another issue. But, I believe that the balance of power and the alignment of democracy lies in the hands of the media. I wonder if the media community realise the power they have.

Towing a position, an editorial line is fine, but getting it all twisted or going into silent mode seems to be the rule of the day.  We have fantastic journalists out there in all of the media houses.  With the pay they get and the constraints they have to work in, due to  one agenda overriding another, makes it increasingly difficult for them to function and do the work they are trained and/or expected to do.

As we say in Maltese, il-kobba mhabbla – and I wonder if we can ever get ourselves the news media we consumers deserve. Some food for thought – x’ tahsbu?

https://andrewazzopardi.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “Daphne and Consuelo

  1. I agree with you Andrew that we deserve better! But by better I definitely don’t want it to go to the depths of DCG’s writing. One need not stoop so low in order to inform or to drive a point home. In fact recently I brought it to the attention of Lou Bondi that his Bondiblog was becoming like the DCG pages. In all fairness he agreed with me and said that he shall keep my comment in mind. However, from the court revelations of this morning, it transpires that there was, and I suspect there still is, quite a strong collusion between Bondi and DCG. So from now on I shall take whatever Bondi says with a pinch of salt, unless he can prove to me that what DCG said about him and Rachel in court this morning is a total fabrication by her. Instigating hatred cannot possibly be on any journalist’s agenda. Besides, if DCG was conducting any investigative journalism, it definitely didn’t show from her evidence in court this morning. In going through the Times article that you mentioned I was particularly disgusted by the last paragraph. In fact this was my response which was published on the Times blog:

    Love all, trust a few. Do wrong to none.
    William Shakespeare (1564 – 1616), “All’s Well That Ends Well”, Act 1 Scene 1
    …. and today I realized that the few to be trusted should actually be fewer!
    I always wondered who betrayed the Magistrate’s trust (if what DCG is saying is true).
    I shudder to think of inviting people whom I consider as friends to my home only for them to run to the toilet to phone none other than the one who self-confessed publicly in the media of her hate against me; to pump her up because they are shocked of what I have just said about her.
    Scruples, what scruples?
    With friends like these who needs enemies?

    Like

Many thanks for your comments...keep posting...